Health situation

Assam is situated in the northwest of India and is known worldwide for its tea. So most people in the project region Helem work in the surrounding tea plantations. As in many rural regions of India malnourishment and infections are a common cause of death in Assam, with toddlers especially stricken. The rural regions suffer from a lack of doctors, healthcare staff and medical facilities. Even if medical treatment is available it is for most too expensive.

Sad record

During one week more women die from pregnancy complications in India than in whole Europe in one year. This is especially the case in Assam. 300 out of 100.000 women do not survive the birth of their child. Also the infant mortality rate is enormous: 70 children out of 1.000 newborn babies die before their fifth birthday and more than half of them within their first month of living.

In industrialized countries the main medical problems are diseases of modern civilization resulting from an unhealthy life style. In contrast to them India is dominated by illnesses resulting from impoverishment such as infections caused by diarrhea, pneumonia, tuberculosis, malaria, leprosy and many others. Many children are chronically malnourished and die from deficiency symptoms.

There is one hospital bed for every thousandth inhabitant in India in comparison to Austria with eight beds for 1000 inhabitants. The Indian government is aware of the problem of the insufficient provision of medical care for the rural population. They try with various programs to reduce these deficiencies. Unfortunately corruption and social reasons prevent the access to medical care for many people, which means that even simply treatable illnesses end mortally.

Help for pregnant women and infants

Here the project Helemhealth starts to work. The hospital and the maternity ward is the first step to secure the medical treatment of pregnant women and infants, especially in Helem the health of poverty-stricken people shall be improved. They cannot afford expensive treatment in private hospitals and depend on poorly equipped state healthcare facilities. The Project Helemhealth improves the chances for medical treatment and reduces infant and maternal mortality.

Join us in providing medical care for children and women and saving hundreds of lives. Thank you!

Health situation

Assam liegt im Nordwesten Indiens und ist weltweit für seinen Tee bekannt. So arbeiten auch die meisten Menschen in der Projektregion Helem auf den umliegenden Teeplantagen. Wie in vielen ländlichen Regionen Indiens sind Unterernährung und Infektionen auch heute noch eine häufige Todesursache in Assam, besonders stark betroffen sind Kleinkinder. In den ländlichen Gegenden fehlt es an Ärzten, Pflegepersonal und medizinischen Einrichtungen. Ist Behandlung verfügbar, ist sie für viele unerschwinglich.

Trauriger Rekord

In einer Woche sterben in Indien mehr Frauen an Komplikationen einer Schwangerschaft als in ganz Europa in einem Jahr. Ganz besonders oft ist dies in Assam der Fall: 300 von 100.000 Frauen überleben die Geburt ihres Kindes nicht. Auch die Säuglingssterblichkeit ist enorm: von 1.000 Neugeborenen sterben 70 Kinder noch vor ihrem 5. Geburtstag und davon mehr als die Hälfte innerhalb des ersten Lebensmonats.

Im Gegensatz zu den industrialisierten Ländern, in denen das medizinische Hauptproblem Zivilisationskrankheiten durch ungesunden Lebensstil ist, herrschen in Indien armutsbedingte Krankheiten vor: Infektionen durch Durchfallerreger, Lungenentzündungen, Tuberkulose, Malaria, Lepra u.a. Viele Kinder sind chronisch unterernährt und sterben an Mangelerscheinungen.

Pro 1000 Einwohner gibt es in Indien 1 Krankenhausbett, im Vergleich dazu sind es in Österreich 8 Betten/1000 Einwohner. Das Problem der mangelnden Versorgung besonders der Landbevölkerung ist der indischen Regierung bewusst. Mit verschiedenen Programmen wird versucht, diesem Misstand zu begegnen. Leider verhindern Korruption und gesellschaftliche Gründe vielen Menschen den Zugang zur medizinischen Versorgung, wodurch selbst einfach behandelbare Krankheiten tödlich enden.

Hilfe für Schwangere und Säuglinge
An diesem Punkt setzt das Projekt Helemhealth an. Durch das Krankenhaus und die Einrichtung einer Mutter-Kind-Station soll als erster Schritt die Versorgung von Säuglingen und schwangeren Frauen sichergestellt werden – insbesondere die Gesundheit der von Armut betroffene Menschen in Helem soll verbessert werden. Sie können sich teure Behandlungen in privaten Krankenhäuser nicht leisten und sind auf die oft schlechten staatlichen Versorgungseinrichtungen angewiesen. Durch das Projekt Helemhealth soll die medizinische Behandlungsmöglichkeit verbessert und die Mütter- und Säuglingssterblichkeit verringert werden.

Helfen Sie mit, den Kindern und Frauen medizinische Versorgung zu ermöglichen und damit hunderte Leben zu retten. Vielen Dank!